Facebook launches ad break feature in an additional 21 countries

Facebook launches ad break feature in an additional 21 countries

Social giant Facebook has enabled ad breaks in an additional 21 countries.

Moving forward, elible creators and companies in a number of European and South American locations can run  advertisements on long-form content. 

The European countries are: Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden. South American countries are: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, The Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico and Peru. Thailand has also been added.

They will join the five launch countries, which were the US, UK, Australia, New Zealand and Ireland.

Making bank

Facebook said in a recent blog post that ad breaks are already seeing signs of success. The company reports that more than 20 per cent of eligible publishers and creators have already joined the program, with almost 10 per cent of those pages making over $1000. 

"The cornerstone of achieving and maintaining Ad Break eligibility and earning meaningful revenue starts with creating the type of content that viewers have told us works best with Ad Breaks: longer videos that people seek out and want to come back to." Facebook wrote.

Companies and creators can check if they're eligible for monetisation by checking their page insights. It'll show all of the pages attributed to a main Facebook account and how far off monetisation they are.

Facebook also has a list of ways to improve content on the platform to give creators the best shot at monetisation.

Image: Facebook blog


Danielle Partis is editor of and former editor of She was named Journalist of the Year at the MCV Women in Games Awards 2019, as well as in the MCV 30 under 30 2020. Prior to Steel Media, she wrote about music and games at Team Rock.


No comments
View options
  • Order by latest to oldest
  • Order by oldest to latest
  • Show all replies