Instagram has rolled out a feature that lets users choose who sees their stories.
In the settings, a new tab called 'close friends' will let users pick the accounts they consider to be close pals. It's always customisable and no one can request to be added like they can when an account is private.
Then, when a user posts to their Insta story, they can choose to share it with that curated list of followers. If someone is added to a user's close friends list, they'll see a green badge when viewing their story.
If an account is set to private, only those let in by a user can see what they share to Instagram. If an account is public, anyone can see their posts and stories, even if they don't follow them. The amount of young people using social platforms is constantly rising, and so privacy options like this are proving to be valuable.
The close friends option is available on both Android and iOS devices from today. The feature is similar to Facebook's ability to hide posts from certain users.